Resolve

A Little Late Luck

Does this mean my luck will come lately, if at all?

I’ve heard it’s lucky to have black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day, but I never managed to get my act together enough to make them on time. This year is no exception, although I did manage to buy the black-eyed peas and similarly contemplated making something with them on New Year’s Day. Perhaps that will be good enough. Last night they went to good use, though. I formed them into tasty, albeit a tad spicy, black-eyed pea patties.

Black-Eyed Pea Patties (Makes 8 Patties)

* Preheat oven to 350° F.

* Combine:

1 can (15 oz.) black-eyed peas, rinsed and mashed

¾ c. quinoa flakes

¼ c. pecans, ground into a paste

¼ c. vegetable broth (this amount is approximate – you want the “dough” just firm enough to hold together)

1 tsp. amchoor powder

½ tsp. garam masala

½ tsp. black pepper

½ tsp. Hungarian hot paprika

½ tsp. salt

* Smoosh mixture together into patties 2″ x 2″ x ¼” and place on non-stick cookie sheet.

* Drizzle with olive or canola oil or spray with cooking spray.

* Bake for 20 minutes, turning the patties over at ten minutes.

Next time I make these, I think I might cut back on the paprika. Or use standard paprika. I like spicy food, but I think I really didn’t want these patties to be that spicy. Particularly as I served them with a couple of healthy dollops of hot, store bought mango chutney. Thank goodness for the chanterelle “calamari,” as they were the only thing that added a little calm to my dinner last night.

New Year’s Day is also the time for resolutions.  I do not make any regarding organization, finances, people, weight loss or even quitting smoking (when that was applicable). I may be ambivalent about whether or not I should make general dietary changes, though. It would explain why I bought the ingredients to make smoothies, but have instead discovered that if you mix equal parts Vegenaise and peanut butter with a hit of wasabi paste or powder you end up with something revoltingly and embarrassingly delicious. For the most part, what I do make are “knowledge” resolutions. I thought that it would be fun to list them here so I can get a good chuckle at the end of the year when I’ve made virtually no headway:

  1. Learn how to play chess.
  2. Learn Japanese.
  3. Refresh my French. I’m really hoping I can save up enough for a visit this year.
  4. Learn macramé. For real this time. I know I claimed I was working on this months ago, but it took several times for crochet to stick.
  5. Learn how to read crochet patterns.
  6. Take one ballroom dancing class.
  7. Take pottery throwing classes.
  8. Learn 12 new knitting tricks or techniques. (This includes alternative cast-on methods that I must put into practice . . . it’s quite sad that I still insist on using the long tail method despite the fact that I have a fondness for lace knitting. The two do not mesh well.)
  9. Purchase a loom and spinning wheel. Weaving and spinning are from last year’s list. Sadly, my finances and desire to learn how to do both on fancy equipment were not in sync last year. This year looks more promising. At the very least, I will get a Nifty Knitter and a spindle. A five-year-old could afford these on a modern allowance, so I should be able to, too.
  10. Read a book a week. If this means that I have to buy one of those machines made for paralyzed people that requires you to puff into it to make it turn pages, so be it. I should probably be humiliated that a friend recommended that I do this, but at least he understands how knitting complicates my reading life.
2 Responses to “Resolve”

  1. Suzie Says:

    I know something you resolved to do, yet you forgot to add to this list. Only, I’m not telling you what it is. You’ll find out Saturday! I’ll take ballroom dancing with you. We’ll look silly, but I’ll do it.

  2. Nikki Says:

    I got my Knifty Knitter set for 9.99 on sale.

    And I think we should have our own dancing competition.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

