Superstitious

I can’t get this fabric out of my head. It keeps trying to design my living room-to-be. It tells me that it will be OK to paint most of the walls navy as long as I put up dentil molding and paint it white. And a copious number of white shelves. And turn a wall or two into a mural, or even wallpaper them with something coordinating and light in color. It has some crazy ideas and keeps making me tell people. As a result, everyone keeps trying to help me design the first real place that will be mine, fearing that I’m going to make some monstrously bad design decisions . . .

It’s no secret I’ve been living among boxes for too many months although I’m far from packed since I ran out of steam a little bit prior to Christmas, what with all the gift making to pretend to finish. But what I’ve been reluctant to discuss in any real great detail is the fact that I’m taking a bigger leap than moving . . . I’m actually buying an apartment. For a while, it looked as if purchase would be dependent upon a co-op interview. At first, I’d mention my apartment to people, but it occurred to me that co-op boards are finicky creatures and if the interview went disastrously, the more people I told, the more disappointed I’d be if the purchase fell through. While that wouldn’t be a big deal if I were really ready to buy an apartment, I’m honestly jumping the gun a little bit here because the price happens to be just right. Because I ventured a little deeper in Brooklyn, I managed to find a lovely place that will cost me less than my current rent. But this might be one of two places in my price bracket in New York, so failure would have really meant failure.

It turns out the Board has decided they don’t need to meet me. Someone must have seen my knitting needles when I was originally checking out the place and decided I was no threat, so now we’re really on a roll. The closing walk-through is tentatively scheduled for Friday so I feel like I can really talk about it now, which I’ve wanted to do for ages because I’m excited and I need to finish picking out paint colors, because if I’m lucky there might even be a paintbrush in my future this weekend.

I am, as always, inspired by Anthropologie:

Anthropologie Lust

With the exception of, perhaps, a rug or that yellow vase (on sale for $19), there is not much there in my price range. Some of their couches are gorgeous (especially the fabric, although their nearly overstuffed couches come in shapes I rather like), but anyone who thinks Anthro’s clothing is a touch expensive should check out the heartbreakingly expensive $4000 couches (so far outside of my price range it’s not even funny). My parents’ decided my couch was to be my Christmas present, however, so they have felt free to opine on everything I’ve pointed out thus far. I found this affordable model from Urban Outfitters and I kind of love it:

Antoinette Fainting Sofa

My mother muttered things about “practicality” and “comfort,” which is sort of amusing as she has seen the shoes I wear. Besides, it is the perfect color for my second couch. I’m probably also a little bit smitten because it will go well with the piece I plan on updating with the fabric featured above.

I feel, though, that I should have a countdown ticker on here.  Something to remind me that this is the last move I will ever have to make if I so choose.  The worst bit of being a renter is that it’s hard to really invest a lot of effort into where you live because you don’t know how long it will be yours.  It will be nice to finally get away from all of that.

8 Responses to “Superstitious”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Love. Love. Love. That couch. Just a little warning from someone with a blue ceiling…if you go with the navy (which sounds beautiful), make sure you have plenty of lamps.

  2. kittee Says:

    B/B
    I really love the fabric in the first picture. Good luck securing your place, let us know when it happens!

    xo
    kittee

  3. "torrance" Says:

    You have a beautiful blog :)

  4. Teresa Says:

    I love it – I almost bought the same print in a more orange color scheme at a thrift store – maybe I’ll still go back and get it…

  5. kittee Says:

    B/B
    I’m worried about you. Please email me to say you are OK!
    xo
    kittee

  6. Marinkina Says:

    Нет,по настоящиму улыбнул 8 пункт,просто представил такую ситуацию ))).

  7. Gavrilin Says:

    Пора переименовать блог, присвоив название связанное с доменами :) может хватит про них?

  8. Ferinannnd Says:

    Хм… даже такое бывает.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

