The Things We Try to Hide

Too Many WIP's

Out of common courtesy, we’ll all pretend that this is it. We will not talk about the desk next to the WIP’s. We will not talk about the fact that it is covered for a reason. We will not discuss how many more bags are beneath it. We will not contemplate the fact that my cat has a better idea of the mounds and piles of unfinished dreams. It takes some time to face all of this.

But, in fairness, I have pulled out some of my oldest WIP’s so that I can contemplate their unfinished loops. They have my best yarn, my best needles and, quite possibly, some of the best hours of my life.

Genuine WIP

Which leads me to the WIP above. I consider this one a true WIP. I’m not how projects I can say that about anymore. I’m starting to fear that there are only two and that everything else on my needles at the moment is a lie. I think after a certain amount of time one must abandon all hope for a WIP. I’ve noticed that once projects have moved past the two-week point for me, there tends to be no turning back.  Fortunately, I’m by and large a process knitter.  It’s pleasant to have finished projects, but I can be happy knowing that I’m learning and relaxing, too.

2 Responses to “The Things We Try to Hide”

  1. Some Like It Hot « Bottle and Ball Says:

    […] was really rolling along on the cap sleeve cardigan when I hit the waistband. Suddenly I realized I had no game plan. Initially I halved the stitches […]

  2. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    This topic is quite trendy in the net right now. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write about?

Leave a comment